Skip to content

Redpath Museum Sketchcrawl

November 27, 2012

Last weekend was the monthly Sunday Sketchcrawl for Urban Sketchers Montreal. We had 12-15 people out at the Redpath Museum for a day of sketching the curiosities within.

Only the hardiest (or craziest) Montreal sketchers were out at 10am in -8c. There’s Helmut, Shari and Jennifer sketching from the steps of the Redpath. We lasted about 45 minutes before fleeing for the Tim Hortons. (Timmy’s is a Canadian landmark – our local Dunkin’ Donuts).

Once warmed up we spent the afternoon in the museum. I’m always attracted to the stuffed animals. Charmingly morbid. I saved a lot of skulls for a future trip. And a suit of Samurai armor – as we’re planning to go to a big Japanese armor show later in the year.  But next outing (January) we’re going to the art gallery. I think outdoor sketching in Montreal is officially over for the season.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2012 4:50 PM

    Great sketches, Marc. I went to McGill and walked by Redpath countless times. Your sketch from the steps is fantastic. Was that done with a Lamy pen?

  2. November 27, 2012 5:00 PM

    Woo-hooo! NICE! love the front of the building in crazy perspective. Such a pity I missed this.

  3. November 27, 2012 6:34 PM

    Marc, you continue to be an inspiration. I remember our cold day in October in Vieux Montreal. I’m sorry I missed the Redpath Museum while I was there, but your image of it is amazing and makes me want to see it next time.

  4. November 28, 2012 5:18 AM

    The Redpath is awesome, that curvy perspective, that washy ink – just made me so happy. I feel like a kid starring up at the building till my hat fell off.

  5. Yvonne permalink
    November 28, 2012 5:41 AM

    Ghee, you guys are brave!!! I come from South Africa and find 12 deg cel above zero, a cold day!!! Good scetches

  6. December 2, 2012 9:44 AM

    I can attest that this painting is even more fabulous when you see it “live”. You have a wonderful talent Marc ;-)

  7. January 24, 2013 11:14 AM

    Beautiful! I get to visit Montreal in a couple of weeks and can’t wait to sketch there. Is there a local sketching group I might meet up with?

    • January 24, 2013 8:23 PM

      Hi Kate – yes there are a few groups, including http://urbansketchersmontreal.wordpress.com/ – we do an open session once a month, do any of the Sunday Sketching outings match your visit? (theres a tab in upper right with info).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,333 other followers

