Skip to content

Invitation for an International Sketch Swap: MTL – NYC – Girona – Sao Paulo

January 21, 2014

SketchSwap

Hey everyone! I’ve been talking with some of the other regional Urban Sketchers blogs about a fun project.

One of the most interesting things about Urban Sketching is that it’s a global movement. There are sketch groups like ours all over the world.  We have a shared passion and each group is filled with people who are potential friends.

Mark Leibowitz (NYC) has proposed the idea of an exchange of original art.

A ‘Sketch Swap’ between urban sketching artists in Montreal and a person in one of the other three participating cities. (NYC, Sao Paulo, Girona).

Sounds like fun! I’m in!

Here’s the idea:

  • Everyone who is interested, (and lives in Montreal!), mail me at marc.taro(at)gmail.com. BEFORE FEB FIRST! Please put ‘sketch swap’ in your subject line.
  • Each participant will be (randomly) paired with a buddy in one of the other cities.
  • Before the swap day (early Feb – date to be announced) we all email our sketch-partners and exchange mailing addresses.
  • We all send our sketches by mail. I’d recommend we all do it on the same day – I think its more fun if the exchanges happen promptly.
  • Sketches don’t have to be large – postcard size to 8×10. (I can say from my etsy experience, keeping a package under letter size keeps the cost down, and gets through the mail system faster :)
  • Remember to put a (slightly larger) cardboard backing behind your sketches.
  • I’m going to keep the sketches I send out a surprise, but we encourage you to post pictures of the sketches you get back.
  • I hope everyone has fun, and makes a sketching friend we stay in touch with!
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2014 11:53 AM

    Lovely idea!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.