Skip to content

Up on Parka Blog!

December 7, 2013

Teoh Yi Chie over on ParkaBlog had just posted a short Q&A about my art tools. Just a walk through the stuff I take out location sketching. Kind of cool to be up on there, I’ve been using his book reviews for years.

ParkaBlog

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2013 6:06 AM

    Always great to get an insight into your process/ tools. But mainly this article was great because… SECRET BOOK PROJECT! :D

  2. Soleil Martel permalink
    November 24, 2015 6:08 PM

    Sorry, this is not a reply. I am taking a class from you on Craftsy. You won’t believe this but it is my question. The Kuretake brush pen and extra fine (Platinum Carbon) pen — -what is the correct direction for the cartridge to go in? Is the end with the round metal ball like thing supposed to go toward the tip?

    • November 24, 2015 8:50 PM

      Yes exactly, the metal ball, towards the brush tip :) Then when you twist it together the last pressure pops the ball inside, and it serves to mix the ink.

  3. December 15, 2015 9:29 AM

    Are most of these tools still up to date? Or did you opinion change over 2 years on some of them?

    • December 15, 2015 10:25 AM

      Hey Hey – sure, that article is still mostly true – two main changes, I’ve started packing a lot smaller. I find carrying too much is the best recipe for giving up early in the day. Also I use more sables, and new-er brands of synthetics that have come out in the last year. I have two pages here where I keep my tools info totally up to date. I edit these pages whenever I change things: Sketching Gear | Watercolor Supplies

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.